International Standard

International Standard is one of two categories in the International Style. It is composed of five dances that are competed in the order of waltz, tango, Viennese waltz, slow foxtrot, and Quickstep. Amongst all the styles of dance, Standard is internationally accepted as the oldest and largest form of partner dancing.

While the dances in Standard hold many of the same names, the style, syllabi, and figures are drastically different. In Standard, each dance moves counterclockwise around the dance floor. The dancers never leave closed hold, which also means that they will never do the underarm turns and tricks found in the other styles. In spite of these differences, the closed contact dancers are required to maintain which makes it the most difficult style to learn and master. It is widely accepted as the most technical of all the styles.



International Standard
International Waltz
International Tango
International Viennese Waltz
International Foxtrot
International Quickstep